The B.T.C. Old-Fashioned Grocery Cookbook:

Recipes and Stories from a Southern Revival

by Alexe Van Beuren

with recipes by Dixie Grimes

btc

What started as place to catch up with friend and family while eating some good down home food, it has become so much more. The B.T.C Old Fashioned Grocery has become the heart and soul of the little town of Water Valley Mississippi. The B.T.C. Old Fashioned Grocery has as motto “Be The Change” and it has done just that. This grocery and diner has brought the community together and is just a quint little mom and pop type store that use to be the heart of towns and cities.

The B.T.C Old Fashioned Grocery Cookbook is full of down home, comfort food. From Banana Bread that is super moist and very yummy, to skillet biscuits and sausage gravy. It also has the recipe for chocolate gravy that my husband grew up with and was very happy to know I now has the recipe, also included is a recipe for tomato gravy which sounds yummy and a great way to start the morning off with some veggies.

This winter I know the recipe for Vegetable Beef Soup with Butter Beans will be a staple in this house! Along with their Down Home Tomato Soup. I love soups and love to make a big pot of it and eat on it through out the week. Add some yummy bread from the bakery and I am set! I’ve added B.T.C’s Broccoli Salad and English Pea Salad to my summer menu’s they are just as good the next day!

The number 1 recipe I LOVE and make weekly is Coulter’s Red Beans and Rice! Oh my how I love a big old pot of Red Beans and Rice, I was so happy when I found good old andouille sausage in my local grocery store. We have it but it’s usually so expensive but they now carry authentic andouille from the good ole south! Coulter’s Red Beans and Rice is just like you would get in Louisiana!  Plus they include the recipe for perfect white rice. I  know what your thinking brown rice is healthier and better for you, but white rice is Red Beans and Rice! 🙂

All and all I’ve used this cookbook many times and know it’s one that eventually I will have the recipes memorized from constant use. What sets this cookbook a part from other cookbooks is all the wonderful stories and tales! It makes you feel like you’re at The B.T.C Old Fashioned Grocery.

 

Thank you so much Blogging for Books and Clarkson Potter Publishers (a division of Crown Publishing) for sending me a hardback of The B.T.C Old Fashioned Grocery. 

