Extra Virgin: Recipes and Love from our Tuscan Kitchen

by Gabriele Corcos and Debi Mazar

Host of Cooking Channel tv show Extra Virgin

extra virgin

I love cooking shows, cookbooks and Italian food! I’ve watched their tv show Extra Virgin and really enjoy it, the recipes seem so easy to make and yummy. The family seems to really love being in the heart of the home the kitchen! So when I saw this cookbook for review through blogging for books I jumped and waiting for it to arrive. I had the front door open the minute the ups truck pulled up to the house! πŸ™‚

I have made many of the recipes since getting the cookbook, and some have been made a few times. The recipes use simple ingredients, ones that don’t have you searching through many stores. Everything I’ve made so far uses ingredients that mostly are already in my pantry, fridge and freezer. The have made a big time Risotto lover out of us! Oh my stars I can never go back to plain old rice, Risotto is so yummy!!! The pictures of some of the recipes are beautiful and show you that you don’t need a expensive, hard to find ingredient to make a yummy dish that your family will love.

I have so many pages dog eared already and many pages have stains from me cooking and reading, which is exactly what they say in the introduction that they want to of their book. The book is divided into sections just like any cookbook however this book is one that I have almost every single recipe dog eared. I love the Tuscan Kitchen Essentials pages where Gabriele Corcos talks about all this favorite ingredients he uses.

They include recipes ranging from simple homemade pasta to white bean and pancetta bruschetta, minestrone to hunters chicken. They cover all the bases and all types of meals. They even include a very simple 3 ingredient vegetable stock recipe, that is just to easy and tasty not to make. Forget buying it now you can have homemade veggie stock in 3 hours using 3 veggies and water!

Some of our favorites and new permanent menu items: Sausage and Asparagus Risotto, “Fake” Sauce, Red Sauce, Pici All”Aglione, Pasta and Bean Soup, Minestrone, Super Tuscan Burger, Sausage and Beans, Beef Stew with Polenta, Tuscan Bread {along with the bread starter}, see I love this book. There are a whole lot more recipe wise that we love but it would be like listing almost the whole book! πŸ™‚

thank you so much Blogging for books, Crown Publishing, and Clarkson Potter for sending me this book for review! It’s my go to cookbook!

