Michael Symon’s 5 in 5 for Every Season

165 Quick Dinners, Sides, Holiday Dishes and More…

by Michael Symon

5 in 5

I love cookbooks, I love trying new recipes, reading them cover to cover and discovering new ways to cook food. I know in this day and age of e-books, pinterest, blogs and the net many find that cookbooks are no longer needed in book form. Not me I love having a big stack of cookbooks in my kitchen and use them so much many are duct taped together. I haven’t been a big The Chew watcher but I do know of Michael Symon from my favorite channel Food Network.  This is the first cook book of his I’ve looked through and read, however it won’t be the last. He has so many great recipes! I love the simple idea of 5 in 5. The book is divided into seasons so you can do fresh in season cooking. I know many of the dishes I have saved for later could actually be made now using frozen veggies so don’t let that stop you. He has all kinds of food types represented from vegetarian to meat eater. Some of my favorites from the 5 in 5 For Every Season are:

  • Rigatoni with Mushrooms & Swiss ChardI like that it doesn’t have a heavy sauce. My hubby however puts sauce on it. So I guess you can do it either way. 
  • Spinach Salad with Ham Steak and Fried EggA grown up green eggs and ham. I don’t eat pork products so I did just the egg and salad it was still delish!
  • Spaghetti with Quick Sausage RaguI used chicken sausage and it was so yummy! 
  • Orecchiette with White Beans and SpinachVery good and very hearty even meat eaters will love this one. This is a main dish but could be used a side for a grilled portobello mushroom or chicken.
  • Mashed Potato Cakes with ParmesanThis is a nice twist to pancake night and a great way to not waste food. Add some bacon (turkey, or regular) and some eggs and you have a great breakfast, brunch or breakfast for dinner.

These are just a few of our favorites we have so many more. I have post it flags coming out all over this book. It is my go to for meal planning and we are loving it. I might have to grab a copy of his first 5 in 5 and then I’ll be all set!

summary: 5 fresh ingredients + 5 minutes of heat = 165 recipes

Ridiculously easy from-scratch recipes to get you in and out of the kitchen in a flash every day of the week—now with sides and holiday dishes, too…

The follow-up to the bestselling Michael Symon’s 5 in 5, this new book delivers 165 quick, easy, fresh recipes organized by season with an entire section devoted to making the holidays simpler than ever. Each chapter features inspired main courses as well as recipes for sides and 5 fun ways to celebrate the season, including no-bake summer fruit desserts and spiked drinks to warm up with in winter.

thank you so much Blogging for Books, Micheal Symon and Crown Publishing for allowing me to review 5 in 5 For Every Season. All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the free book.

