Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table

My Favorite Family Recipes with a Modern Twist

by Whitney Miller

Whitney Miller's New Southern Table

 

I love good old fashioned southern food and this book delivers. She takes classics and make a few swaps and switches and makes them healthier for the at home cook to eat. Her cookbook is full of easy to use recipes that don’t have ingredients that are hard to find or expensive and makes them simple and fast so any one can be a New Southern Table cook. The pictures are so pretty and she writes in such a manner that it’s like your old friends and she is sharing her families recipes with you. Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table is a cookbook that will never make it my bookshelf it will be on my kitchen counter since I know I’ll be using it so much why put it up. Her red beans and rice recipe is different from any recipe I’ve seen and since I make it weekly that was the first one I knew I’d try. All her recipes are good not just on paper but when you make them also. You know what I mean you get a cookbook, try a recipe and it doesn’t come anywhere near what the book says. Not Whitney Miller’s book all the recipes come out great and with such ease! Grab a copy and try out some good down home southern cooking with a twist.

summary: MasterChef winner Whitney Miller shares her favorite family recipes with her own unique flair, making them lighter and infusing them with global flavors.

Following her great-grandmothers’ examples of creatively stretching meals during the Great Depression, Whitney Miller transforms recipes from her Southern roots, preserving flavors of traditional family dishes while offering the excitement of her own special touches. She offers a taste of her family table with dishes like Southern Horchata, PB&J Chicken Satay, Dehydrated Okra Chips, Sweet Corn Grit Tamales, Peach Bread Pudding with Sweet Tea Rum Sauce, and much more. Using new techniques and cooking methods, Miller reimagines classic recipes and experiments with flavors from around the world, inspired by her travels since winning MasterChef.

thank you Whitney Miller, Booklook Bloggers, and Thomas Nelson for sending me a copy of Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table. All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the free book.

